Virginia Tech

Hello everyone,
I’m an International Student applied for UG Studies in Mechanical Engineering.
Can someone give me an insight on VTech’s Engineering dept and also touching on some other factors as given below:-

• Campus life.
  • Internship opportunities.

Also accepted in:-
Iowa State University
University at Buffalo- SUNY
Penn State
Ohio State University.
Texas A&M University.
Arizona State University- Tempe
San Jose State University
University of Utah.

Was a little perplexed between Penn State, VTech, Texas A&M Uni and Ohio State University and finally chose VTech.
I hope my choice is not a wrong one. (?)
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks. :slight_smile:

Virginia Tech has a very large engineering career fair (called Engineering Expo). Engineering students are well recruited. You will start in General Engineering before being able to move into Mechanical Engineering (or another engineering department). There should be resources for international students available if you want to look into that. There is lots of info on their website. Also, there are post grad surveys available to give you an idea of companies that engineering students end up at ( but not sure if international student opportunities are limited with some companies).

There is very good school spirit and a strong alumni network . The campus is very nice , the Drillfield is an open, green space . Football games (and tailgating) and basketball games are very popular. Blacksburg is a nice college town, with restaurants and bars right by the campus. Hope you enjoy Virginia Tech!

Thanks a lot Sevmom. Appreciated.
Hope I made the right choice among those universities?
Also I’m huge sports buff. + point for Virginia Tech on that one.

Anyone else?
A little help would be nice. :slight_smile: