What are some of the top nursing programs on the east coast?

<p>Hi, i am currently a high school junior and i have decided that i want to become a nurse anesthetist. that being said, i was wondering what are some of the best schools to apply/eventually go to that will give me the most opportunities in terms of working in a hospital between undergrad and grad school and actually getting into a top grad school. one of my priorities when applying to schools though is that it is about a five hour radius of new york city. i am a very good student, probably either second or third in my class of 363 (gpa uw 3.9/ w ~4.0), so right now my main concern is compiling a list of high caliber schools that i could visit in a few months. Thank you!!</p>

<p>Boston College would be one I would check out… I know that was a dream school for my D (she didn’t apply because financially it would not have worked for us). Being in Boston is great for clinical experiences (Mass General, Brigham and Women’s, Boston Children’s…) and also a great ‘college town’. As a nurse, I think your ability to do clinicals in regional or national hospitals is a high priority. Getting hired into one of those hospitals after you graduate is easier if you have a relationship (or if you’ve been working there while in school). If you have your sights set on becoming a CRNA, you’re going to need great grades and a couple of years experience in a critical care setting.</p>

<p>UPenn gets high praises around here as well. I’m not sure if that fits your 5 hour criteria or not.</p>

<p>And congratulations on your great work in high school! If your scores and ECs are as impressive as your GPA and class rank, you should have many choices!!</p>