What are your backup college choices if denied Fall 2011 admission to UW-Madison?

<p>Thought this might be interesting to students/families going through the application process.</p>

<p>Suggest a reply format like:
1st Backup Choice: University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
2nd Backup Choice: UW-LaCrosse
Home State: Wisconsin</p>

<p>1st Backup: Ohio State
2nd Backup: University of Maryland</p>

<p>Its looking like UW-Madison or bust for most…</p>

<p>I am now a freshman at UW however I was never sure if I would be. I had these alternatives ready. </p>

<p>1st Choice: University of Wisconsin Madison
2nd Choice: Minnesota-Twin Cities
3rd Choice: Louisiana State University (Cheap out of state, scholarship offers, beautiful Baton Rouge campus)
4th Choice: UW- Lacrosse
5th Choice: University of Oregon</p>

<p>Home State: Wisconsin</p>

<p>To be honest, I was shocked when I received such a large scholarship from LSU, I really didn’t even know that it was common for public state schools to give scholarships. Therefore my main recommendation would be apply everywhere!!! You never know what scholarship could be offered, or what change in heart could be had. So many great universities all over the country. With this said, If accepted to Madison… do come. Great school, great atmosphere, nice people, and the ultimate sense of what it means to be part of something bigger than oneself. Sounds corny but its true.</p>

<p>However, you have to consider quality when choosing schools to apply to. Not all state flagships universities are academic equals.</p>

<p>Power Rankings (I feel like a jerk):

1. Wisconsin
  2. Texas
  3. Washington
  4. Ohio State (Got a letter Hinting Acceptance)
    4.Pitt (Accepted)</p>

<p>here is a thought.</p>

<p>my d is a soph. at Texas. She was on her way to Wisconsin, and changed her mind at the last minute. Here were her other accepted top shoices. </p>

<p>1.Texas
2Wisconsin
3 Maryland
4Washington
5Penn St.
6Indiana
7Pitt
8 Colorado</p>

<ol>