What Counts as an Academic Elective?

Hopefully someone can help me out!

I am a high school senior and am very interested at UA. I am a Honors/AP student and have a ACT score of 28, though I am going to raise it to at least a 30. However, I don’t know if I even qualify because I don’t know what an academic elective is! I did take two years of Spanish, two years of band, and two years of Honors music exploration. I have already done all of the required math courses to graduate but I am taking another math class so does that count as one? I am also taking Psychology and Sociology for my fourth year social studies credit so I don’t know if that counts either!

Right now, UA is my top choice with Arizona State being my second. I would be heart broken if I am not even eligible for admission due to my course history! I have tried to ask my counselors but they are of no help.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Where are you seeing that you need an Academic Elective? Can you copy/paste this and provide a link?

This is likely the UA link that @undecideddevil is talking about:

http://gobama.ua.edu/steps/freshman-req/

I believe that any actual course that could be considered “Academic” would certainly be counted. Probably not things like athletics, wood shop, arts & crafts, etc… but most definitely any extra Math, Science, Foreign languages, Psychology, etc.

The list essentially mirrors the “Advanced Academic Diploma” requirements for Alabama Public Schools; 20 academic credits across 4 years of instruction (grades 9-12).

<<<<
4 units of English
4 units of social sciences, including world history or a comparable course
3 units of mathematics (must include algebra I, algebra II, and one unit of either geometry, trigonometry, or calculus)
3 units of natural sciences, including two courses with lab components
1 unit of foreign language