Are there any additional dental classes I need to take?

I am currently a college freshman and I want to be a dentist. I am planning on doing the untraditional route and major in psychology and minor in art. I know there are prerequisite classes I must take and I made a 4-year plan to accommodate them all. However, are there any more classes I must take, such as microbiology, genetics, comparative vertebrate anatomy, multivariable calculus? I saw some schools recommended these classes. The problem is I don’t think I have time to take these classes and I’m not interested in majoring in biology. Will I be at a disadvantage when I apply to dental school if I don’t do many biology courses?

If you want to apply to Dental school, then you need to find out what are the required Pre-req courses you need to take to apply regardless of your major.

Students should contact individual dental schools for specific prerequisite information. Required courses generally include:

8 hours Biology with lab
8 hours Physics
8 hours English
8 hours General Chemistry with lab
8 hours Organic Chemistry with lab
Majoring in science is not a must, but completion of predental science requirements is necessary.

A college undergraduate degree is recommended in preparation for dental school. Most dental students have completed four years of college.

You will only be at a disadvantage if you do not take the required courses specific for each Dental school application.

If you apply to a school without completing their prerequisites, you likely won’t get in. Some of them are necessary for as foundation for further study (microbiology for example). Some are simply hurdles (mult-variable). As @Gumbymom said, it’s school dependent. Look at the requirements for a handful of schools and begin tailoring your coursework to those schools. If a school seems overly burdensome, skip it. Good luck.

Hi seojung99 –