Ask Almost Anything About UR!

Hey everyone, I’m a UR math/CS student (class of 2018) heavily involved in the performing arts (specifically music). I’m also a Richmond Scholar for music.

I thought I would create an Ask Me Anything type thread where members of the UR community (parents, alumni, students, staff) can answer general questions you might have.

Examples include:
-Student life
-Dining
-Specific Departments
-Performing Arts
-Richmond Scholars Program and perks

NOTE:
This is not meant to be a single user “Ask Me Anything”. Anyone from the UR community can answer questions! Please don’t use this for chance me threads. Also, as Richmond Scholars deadline approaches and the semifinalists are notified in December, please make a new thread for the class of 2020 to discuss that process in more detail as to not flood this thread with questions that will not pertain to the majority of students. Questions about the Richmond Scholars program, however, are still welcome here.

Is there a more casual band/orchestra a student can join than the one majors might be in?

The orchestra and band are very casual, since the music department is small (we have about 20-30 majors and minors combined total). Both have “auditions”, but they are only for seating. The band and orchestra are community ensembles, meaning that there are music students (majors and minors), non-music students, professors (non-music and music), and outside community members who are not affiliated with the university that are in the ensembles.

What were the key determining factors in your decision to attend UR? Where else were you accepted? Thanks, Londondad

@londondad, I can shed some light on this question, as I stumbled upon @guineagirl96’s thread from her 2014 application season here:

http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/admissions-hindsight-lessons-learned/1651564-my-results-and-what-it-tells-you-about-the-college-admission-process.html#latest