Can I Make Into A&M with decent grades and summer camps?

Hello! I’m only in my first year of HS, and I’m setting my sights onto A&M because my father was an alumni from there, and the campus and the people are pretty nice. It’s also in state price, so it will be much cheaper for me. However, I know freshman year grades aren’t as important, but so far I’m maintaining the 90-95 area for all of my classes so far. I’m also planning to attend the A&M stem camp and their tennis camp every summer, so I can show how much I like the college. I do have some other things on my resume such as violin All state, and other things. Can all of these things get me accepted?

If your a freshman you need to stop worrying, or else 3 years is going to be a long time.

Don’t stress.
Don’t close any doors (i.e. do well in your classes)
Put some time and effort into your standardized tests in a few years.
Keep doing things you really like to do (orchestra, etc.)

A&M Cost of Attendance $30,000 per year in-state.

It is way too early to worry about any specific college. You don’t have enough HS coursework done to have a meaningful GPA and you don’t have standardized test results, and you have no class rank yet. Typically going to a camp at a school does not impact admissions decisions. For now you should do the best you can in the most rigorous courseload you can manage, get involved in things you enjoy at school and/or in your community, study for standardized tests when the time comes, and spend time with friends and family. Come back to CC in two years.

I agree with the above, but want you to know that freshman year grades matter. They are 1/3 of the grades/class rank you will be reporting when you apply to Texas A&M in the Fall of your Senior year. It sounds like your grades are great! They are as important as your Junior year grades through so keep that in mind.