Chance me (Virginia Tech)

Hi everyone! First post ever because I am extremely nervous about getting into Tech. I submitted my early decision application last week. Here are my stats:

• 3.1 GPA unweighted
  • 1260 SAT score
  • AP/Dual Classes (all highschool): AP World History, AP English 11, AP US History, Dual English 12, AP Statistics, Dual Government
  • I am in Pre-Calculus right now
  • 2 years of varsity lacrosse
  • 2 years of Environmental Club
  • 1 year of a female student mentor program (I am a mentor to a sophomore)
  • 3 generation legacy (dad, granddad, great-granddad)
  • 3 years of French consecutively
  • 2 years working for a local business (I am a night manager)
  • recommendation letter from my English teacher
  • possible consideration from family friend who is on a scholarship board at Tech

Thanks!!!

bump lol

help!

What major did you apply for? Engineering might be tough with your GPA. I am assuming you are in state. Going ED was definitely a good decision and a good essay on the top five reason you want to be a Hokie will help. Good Luck and Go Hokies!

Are you in-state? If so, you have a decent shot. Most of the people I know who’ve gotten into tech have a similar profile as you. With that said, the majority of them weren’t engineering majors (which would be a reach for you).

ED was a good call. Best of luck, I think it’s more likely than not that you’ll get in.

I applied for Political Science major! Thank you!!

My son is very similar to your situation, a higher GPA but not much.He will be applying for Fall 2019

Please let us know how you do on getting accepted. Fingers crossed for you.

Did you find out yet?

I am going to assume a rejection since there has been no update. The GPA looks low regardless of residency or major.

Just trying to figure out my chances as I nervously wait; any advice welcome!!
GPA; 3.8
SAT; 1250( superscore) 1230 (reg)
black female
in state
Liberal Arts- political science major

Someone chance me!