Chances Maybe?

<p>Hey, I am an international student who hopes to get into the U. I am new to this whole applying process, so I was wondering what my chances might be to get in, and possibly get a scholarship.</p>

<p>I have a 3.95 unweighted GPA
I am Head Boy
I am on the Track and Field and Basketball teams
I am not entirely sure of all my awards, but I am not sure that they would matter too much in the United States. Am I wrong?</p>

<p>In October I will have hopefully spent time working in Doctor's Hospital in Nassau.</p>

<p>I haven't taken my SATs yet, so I am not sure if I will be able to apply early action. I have until September 10th to register an SAT date in October. Do you think it is necessary I apply early if I want to be accepted or get a scholarship? </p>

<p>One of my teachers had a past student get accepted into UM with a scholarship and she says she thinks I can do the same. What are you thoughts?</p>

<p>Much Thanks,
Bigwoof</p>

<p>A 3.95 unweighted GPA is VERY impressive, to put it in perspective I feel pretty comfortable with something like a 3.2 (but I have high SAT’s, solid EC’s and my school has a connection). I think if you hit somewhere in the 1200’s (which for someone with a 3.95 shouldn’t be too hard) then I think you’d be a virtual lock regardless of when you apply.</p>

<p>Each year it gets harder and harder to be accepted to Miami and especially to receive a scholarship. This year I think you had to be above a 1350 to even be considered. </p>

<p>In an article I read about Miami moving up to #47 in the USNews list of top colleges, one of the Miami administrators was quoted as saying that the kids they used to give scholarships to several years ago would now not even be admitted.</p>

<p>I’d listen to hotpotato with caution, especially with your lack of extracurriculars. You can start to feel comfortable once you get a 1300, but then (as SVMMom said) I don’t think you can get a scholarship.</p>