Do I have a chance at the University of Alabama?

Hi, I graduated back in 2013 trying to finally get back into school since my finances are finally in good enough shape. I graduated with a 3.1 gpa and an ACT score of 21. The University of Alabama has ALWAYS been my dream and I am terrified of being rejected. I am faxing over an essay and both my bosses are faxing them recommendations - I know they aren’t required but they are suggested for students who feel their grades are not sufficient. Honestly with a 3.1 gpa and 21 act score do I have a chance in getting accepted??? Thanks in advance! and Roll Tide!!!

I’m confused are you talking about going back and getting a second degree? Or did you take time to go to college after you graduated or??

I believe the OP is saying that s/he graduated from high school in 2013. I think we need to know whether the OP is applying in-state or not, but my guess is that the GPA/ACT is on the low end for the state flagship. UA states on their admissions site that 1/3 of accepted students scored 30 or higher on the ACT, and a 21 would put the OP at or below the 25th percentile. Alabama is probably a reach. What about another campus of UA?

Just to add my two cents; depending on where you live, also consider attending a community college first. Work hard, get good grades, and then your high school record is just fine. CC is much less expensive and honestly a great introduction into college-level work. Plan ahead with your intended major, carefully consider the degree requirements at UA, and take classes that support that end goal. If you are in-state, complete a STARS agreement while attending CC to ease the transfer process.

In other words: Start with the ending in mind. Best wishes!!