Early Decision or Regular Decision for B student with good SAT and ACT scores?

My son is considering applying ED to Tech. I asked him if it’s better to do ED or RD. Some of his friends are applying ED.

I came to ask the experts-all of you!

His info:

GPA 3.3W
SAT 1980
CR/M 1360
ACT 31

Robotics subcaptain 3 years
Boy Scout Venturing
4 years volunteering at local library

He wants to major in…engineering, but will put BIT, Business Info Tech as his second choice.

I guess the question is do you apply ED or RD? If you are deferred with ED, are you less likely to get in with RD?

So many questions :slight_smile:

I am no expert and all of this is anecdotal- but one of my sons applied ED to engineering a few years ago and it did not help. Also had 1360 SAT with really no prep ( they did not look at writing-) But 3. 5 something weighted GPA . Excellent EC’s . They deferred him, then waitlisted him in the regular round. He brought his GPA some by the time of the regular round and graduated with around a 3.7. They took him off the waitlist but placed him in University Studies , not Engineering. Even a few years ago, the average GPA of admitted students was over 3.9. We felt lucky that he was admitted. I believe the average GPA may be even over 4.0 at this point. Admissions seems to care more about GPA than SAT. A higher SAT will only get you so far. At least, that has been my observation. But of course, I could be wrong. Good luck.

Sorry, I meant to post his classes for this year:

AP Calc AB
AP Gov
AP Psyc
AP Comp Science
Geospatial analysis
Honors English
Philosophy

He’s taken honors courses since he was a freshman.