Early Decision Tech (Engineering)

<p>So, I applied Early Decision to Tech. I just want opinions on my chances of getting in:</p>

<p>I'm a resident of NOVA</p>

<p>GPA: 3.95 (weighted)</p>

<p>SAT: 1250 (math/reading) </p>

<p>Senior Courses:
AP English lit
AP Gov
AP Calc BC
AP Physics C
AP Computer Science
Advanced Programming
Advanced PE 12 (I needed a relaxing class)</p>

<p>APs Taken (score):
AP World (4)
AP Language (3)
AP US History (5)</p>

<p>Major: Computer Science and/or Physics</p>

<p>Extracurriculars:
Model UN
National Honors Society
Math Honors Society
Science Olympiad
Future Business Leaders Of America</p>

<p>Outdoor Track 2009
Indoor Track 2008-2010
Youth Basketball League 2007-2010
Youth Basketball Coach 2010-2011</p>

<p>Grocery Store Cashier July-Present</p>

<p>I got accepted in state 2006 with similar stats but a lower gpa (3.5) and less AP’s 4 or 5 less than you. I’ve lived in NoVA off and on since I was a military brat but I don’t think that impacts whether students get accepted. However I’m not sure what’s changed in the past 4 years, I know it gets rougher each year.</p>

<p>However I’m posting because I’m currently in Computer Science and I just wanted to say that they recently changed a lot of the courses here. I think they are heading in the right direction but the main language right now is Java instead of C++ a few years ago so make sure you are exceptional at that.</p>

<p>However I’m in a course that deals with C and assembly that I’ll have to repeat along with 1/3 of the class (bad professor) and we have no pre-req classes for C and courses assume you know it so know that VERY well. If you have prior programming experience coming in, I think you’ll do fine. I had none and it’s been very rough for me here but that’s my 2 cents on Comp Sci here at tech. </p>

<p>Just some quick potential negatives during my experience of the program to get out of the way:</p>

<ol>