Geneseo Student AMA

Hi everyone! I’m a recent grad from Geneseo and would be happy to answer any questions people may have about Geneseo. If any of you have questions about classes, dorm life, the food, extracurriculars, or the town in general, feel free to ask.

Hi, thanks very much for the offer. Geneseo is a possibility for S. Possible major Physics, some other science. He loves music (plays clarinet) and would like to play in an orchestra/band, and maybe a jazz or other ensemble. He is seriously into chess as well. Can you tell me about music at Geneseo?

Also, what is the town really like? Is it a town?

And how do you characterize the student body?

Thanks again!

@momcinco Geneseo is definitely a great school for the sciences. I majored in biochemistry and psychology, so I spent a lot of time taking biology, chemistry, and physics courses. The chem department is absolutely amazing, and the biology department is great too although they do try to weed students out a big more since there are so many biology majors. Physics is definitely a tough major, but those who make it to upper level classes seem to love it and there are a lot of research opportunities.

I don’t know too much about the music department, but a roommate of mine was very involved and students can take part in ensembles for credit and there are definitely a lot of shows they put on.

I really loved the town of Geneseo, although it can be quiet at times. Everyone is so welcoming and most of the shops cater to students. I’ve always felt safe walking home alone after a night out and off-campus housing is very cheap compared to other schools. Some people may find the town to be lacking if they come from a big city, but Rochester is only about 35 minutes away and buses run there on the weekends.