HKUST or CUHK- are they any good?

<p>I am a student from Bangladesh thinking of applying to these Hong Kong universities (among others) for undergrad. I am planning to major in Economics, and most rankings of economics depts put HKUST in the top 50 and CUHK in the top 100, and that's one reason why I'm applying there. The other reason is that they both have good scholarship programs.</p>

<p>But apart from this I know little about these universities. Are they international friendly, for example? Are they well-considered outside of HK? Anything else I should know about them?</p>

<p>Any help is appreciated, particularly from people who have actually been to the unis.</p>

<p>Try applying to some schools in the Philippines like University of the Philippines (UP), De La Salle University (DLSU) and the University of Asia and the Pacific (UA&P). they're all excellent schools for economics and they're quite cheaper than most schools in Hong Kong/Singapore (maybe 1/5 of the cost). Philippine schools are also excellent schools too. The University of the Philippines' Economics, for instance, is one of the best in Asia, as i've heard. </p>

<p>Here's the link:
University of the Philippines -- <a href="http://www.up.edu.ph%5B/url%5D"&gt;www.up.edu.ph&lt;/a>
University of the Philippines at Diliman -- <a href="http://www.upd.edu.ph%5B/url%5D"&gt;www.upd.edu.ph&lt;/a>
UP School of Economics -- <a href="http://www.econ.upd.edu.ph/home/index.php%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://www.econ.upd.edu.ph/home/index.php&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p>

<p>De La Salle University -- <a href="http://www.dlsu.edu.ph%5B/url%5D"&gt;www.dlsu.edu.ph&lt;/a>
University of Asia and the Pacific -- <a href="http://www.uap.edu.ph%5B/url%5D"&gt;www.uap.edu.ph&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p>

<p>BTW, English is widely spoken in the Philippines and a lot of international students are here to learn english.</p>

<p>Thanks Mabuhay, I will certainly look into them.</p>

<p>Any other pointers?</p>