How do I know if I should do IB diploma?

I am a good student but sometimes my grades aren’t always amazing. I’m halfway through sophomore taking all honors classes plus IB chem 1. I can’t imagine not taking higher level classes. I ended freshman year with a 3.95 weighted GPA. I sometimes struggle with math, but mainly because of my incompetent teachers. My school 9th and 10th grade classes prep for IB classes using the same assignments, rubrics etc. Even, if I don’t always get As, should I do the diploma? Again, I am a diligent student and hard worker.

If you’re taking IB Chem 1 that means you must be really smart. I’m just in honors Chemistry, but the people in my school that take AP Chemistry (my school doesn’t let sophomores take IB classes) are usually really smart and are all doing the IB program. If you’re not good at math, just don’t HL in math or physics. You should HL in chemistry since you already have experience taking an IB class for that.

If you don’t do IBDP, will your school say that you didn’t go for the most rigorous program / course selection? In that case, if you aim top universities I think it is safer to stick with IB. I am not an expert with the IB system in the US, but here, in Europe, it is extremely difficult to get straigth As in IBDP even for academically super talented kids. Having said that, I must add that the US universities usually know that fact and act accordingly.

You should also be aware that the full diploma program is very time consuming. They say it comes with its rewards in the college. But in the high school kids doing IB usually don’t have any spare time for other activities. If we had the chance, we would have chosen an AP school for our kids.