I feel like Miami denied me an admissions scholarship I qualfied for...

<p>In the net price calculator, it said that there requirements for the Dean's Scholarship are as follows:</p>

<p>Dean's Scholarship
GPA: A-
SAT/ACT: 1350 / 31
Class Rank: 10%</p>

<p>At the time of application, my GPA was 3.67. My ACT met the requirement at 31, though my SAT was a bit short at 1300. My class rank is top 15% and not top 10%, but such a number is relative to how good the school you attended is, and I happened to be at one of the best public schools in the Tampa area. It doesn't make sense to be potentially penalized for going to a high school that happened to have an abundance of bright kids. </p>

<p>Basically what I wanna know is, is there anything I can do to try to get the 16k per year? Is there an appeal process or something? Sorry if I sound silly, I'm new to this stuff.</p>

<p>I really wanna go to UMiami and I think 16k per year would swing my decision toward doing that. Thanks for any help you guys have for me.</p>

<p>

Sorry, but your performance is relative to those in your school because not every school’s rigorousness is the same. I also attended one of the highest achieving public high schools (if not THE highest achieving school) in Hillsborough county and with a 3.98UW / 5.68W GPA was ranked only 40th of 500 because of the competitiveness of my high school. As a result, my class rank didn’t qualify me for the honors program at UM (which is fine, I wouldn’t have accepted regardless).</p>

<p>Two things:</p>

<p>1 - Your issue is with the concept of schools ranking, not that you were treated unfairly. You don’t meet the posted requirements in GPA or in class rank, two of three factors. </p>