IB Math HL/SL

<p>I'm in my first year of the IB diploma and I'm taking Math HL. I'm finding it very hard and although I don't get too bad grades (5 on the first report card), I'm spending a disproportionally large amount of time on it compared to other subjects. I'm afraid this is not sustainable over the next two years and I don't see myself getting more than 5. My grades in all other subjects are very good 7s and 6s but I don't think a 5 in a HL looks very good on your college application.
Do colleges in the US require math HL for a major in economics and would it hurt my chances at some of the most competitive ones if I switched to SL (Where I am pretty sure I can get at least a 6) and took biology HL instead (Where I am pretty sure I could get 7)? </p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>I’m not the most qualified person to answer your question, but I’ll try!</p>

<p>The way I’ve been hearing, the only reason people take HL Math over SL Math is because of college credit – schools typically only give college credit to the classes you took HL and got a 6 or a 7 on. So, if you’re not looking for something like that, I personally think SL Math is fine if you want to go to Economics. As for biology HL, I don’t know if it really matters what science you take if you want to go to econ, but that’s just my uninformed opinion :)</p>

<p>Are you taking HL economics? Most US colleges that I know of don’t require a HL mathematics for economic studies, especially as most US colleges don’t require you to list your major until a year into the program, anyway. Are you in your first year of IB now? If you feel more comfortable with biology, I think it would be best for you to go for the change now before more time passes and the decision becomes harder and harder. Good luck!</p>

<p>You need Math HL if you want to study economics in LSE.</p>