I'm 17, 18 in early august. I want to attend a university in my state (CSU, UC) but my mom doesn't want me living on campus

I’m a resident of california, and my family is low-income. Costs of attending university isn’t a concern to me because I plan on getting scholarships, financial aids, etc. It isn’t a concern to my single mom either. I plan on becoming an RN, or working another career in the medical field and I’d like to do that through a university.

Problem is, my mom wants to control my life at this point. I’ve been talking about university since sophomore year, and working extremely hard to meet the criteria of UCs, which I’m doing very well in and she knows that. She told me a few days ago that I’m going to a CC of her choice. And when I tried to speak up and tell her, I want to go to a university, she got upset basically saying “You want to talk to boys” and “You’re not ready for that. You can do that at 20” and whatnot. I am a homeschool student, with no friends, and barely any social life so sure she may have a point BUT, staying home for CC and doing even MORE online classes isn’t going to help me progress.

My plan is (or was) to apply to UCs, and CSUs of my choice, get accepted into whatever and live on campus. I’ve watched all the videos on dorm life at these colleges from girls, they’re happy and I envy them. I’ll be 18 on August 3rd which is normally a few weeks prior to housing checkin, but still 17 at the time of housing applications. I heard she’d need to sign my application. Is there no way around this? Do I really need her? What can I do?

Hopefully, you and mom can come to an agreement. Maybe it’s a campus close to home.

But first you need to figure out the budget. There are programs to help low income kids but will close the gap? Might you need to go to a CC and live home.

If low income, there may even be full rides somewhere.

I wish you luck in pursuing your dreams.