I'm a student who just completed freshman year. AMA

<p>For those who were accepted and wanted to know what freshman year would be like. I just finished up my freshman year. I'm an engineering major. Ask me Anything.</p>

<p>I am a transfer who just got accepted as a junior. I want to know how strict is the tablet requirement? I’m am electrical engineering major. Do they allow the laptop to be purchased through financial aid?</p>

<p>Currently I have a Macbook Pro.</p>

<p>How hard is it to do well as an engineering major and still have fun and go out? Obviously there will be times when the work load is a lot, and school takes priority as usual. </p>

<p>Do any engineers join fraternities/sororities and still do well?</p>

<p>vthokies-</p>

<p>I can’t speak from personal experience, but both of my roommates were in a fraternity and managed to do quite well in engineering. Neither ever seemed totally bogged down with work.</p>

<p>To MominHaq: For the introductory engineering courses in the Fall and Spring semester of my freshmen year, the tablet requirement was a joke. The professors never checked them. I saw multiple students in the lecture with Wacom tablet add-ons with normal laptops (even Macs), me being one of them. Its a bit of a joke really. There was a part in workshop where we had to sketch an object, and all the workshop leaders allowed students to draw it on paper and turn it in. That really defeats the purpose of having a tablet. My advice is to avoid getting a tablet PC, but be sure to get a USB add-on. Be sure that your normal laptop meets and exceeds the requirement. I have a couple friends who love their tablet because they can take notes on it. And some who cannot stand it. I personally take notes on pen and paper so I found no use for it anyways. </p>

<p>They do not fund tablets through financial aid, which is a bummer because the tablets are really expensive. </p>