Internal Transfer: University Studies to Architecture

<p>I am an international student who graduated from high school in 2008 and decided to take a year off before starting college.</p>

<p>I too intend to major in Architecture but have been admitted to the University Studies program. </p>

<ul>
<li>It says that one can apply for a transfer into architecture in Spring if one has maintained a 2.5 GPA or above in University Studies.</li>
<li>Of those students that apply, only a few are interviewed.</li>
<li>Of those interviewed, only a few are accepted into the Summer Qualifying Design Lab.</li>
<li>After completion of the Summer Qualifying Design Lab, the faculty reviews your grades and over-all performance.</li>
<li>Students with GPA below 2.0 will return to University Studies</li>
<li>Students with 2.0-3.5 GPA will begin as first-year architecture students in fall.</li>
<li>Students with 3.5 GPA and above MAY be placed as second-year students in fall.</li>
</ul>

<p>Every paragraph has the following squashed in: There are very limited number of students selected each year due to overall limited resources of faculty, space and support facilities.</p>

<p>Does anyone know how many students finally attend the Summer Qualifying Design Lab?
How many of those students are FINALLY accepted as SECOND YEAR ARCHITECTURE students?</p>

<p>I also read somewhere that only the very best students are accepted as transfers regardless of the "above 3.5 GPA" criteria. Which basically means that if they plan to take only 5 students then even if there are 10 students with GPAs above 3.7, they will pick only the top 5. Is this true?</p>

<p>Also, is it very hard to maintain a 3.5 GPA as a University Studies student?</p>

<p>CONFUSED O_o</p>

<p>I too am having problems with this. When it says that you will be admitted as a first year architect student if you do not have above a 3.5, does that mean i must stay in school for five years?</p>