Mixed and Confused...

<p>I am a mixed student, Black and White. I was wondering if any of the AA applicants think that my status should allow me to consider myself an African-American not only in the college application process but in life as a whole.</p>

<p>I’d choose to be called “multi-racial” or “black and white” if possible. But, seeing as everyone is calling Obama the first black president, I guess you can just go with AA.</p>

<p>I get that. It’s just I am tired of having to deal with people asking “What are you?”. I am too light to be AA, but too dark to be white. Just a difficult question with no cemented answer that I am trying to take the easy way out.</p>

<p>What’s wrong with saying both? I know it may sound weird, but sometimes I wish I could be both white and black.</p>

<p>There is nothing wrong with saying both but out here in the Midwest it isn’t really common, and not many people understand why it would happen. I guess if I got to a region where it was more common then they question would be much easier to answer.</p>

<p>I guess I would go with both, but in a similar sense(since i’m not black or white). But I know how you feel.</p>

<p>By the way, can anybody tell my how to post/start a new thread?</p>

<p>

I’ve gotten the same question many times … at school, work, getting off the streetcar (seriously), etc. Honestly, some days I just feel like being more specific than others.</p>

<p>What’s even stranger is when your entire, extended family, for the most part, has that ambiguous look, and you unequivocally identify with being black, but it’s just too confusing for some people. Never mind about me, but yes, I’d say that you can identify as being black if you feel black (I know that sounds kind of strange).</p>