My student wants to transfer to UWMadison. CC or UWS?

Hey guys.

I am currently a teacher in my church’s Sunday school and came to know this really decent kid who wants to ultimately attend UW at Madison. But he’s English is not sufficient yet, so he decided to attend another college first then apply to Madison later as a transfer. The question is which college should he choose to attend that can really boost up his chances at Madison?

He’s looking at two choices–a CC that has a guaranteed transfer program to Madison and UW as Stout. He doesn’t like the CC sentiment (students being lazy and less enthusiastic teachers) but he is not confident to go to a 4-year college to earn a competitive GPA to transfer successfully to Madison. He’s basically wondering he would be better off going to community college because that way he could more likely get a desirable GPA to transfer.

What would you advise him? I’ve been out to the real world for so long and have forgotten the recent transfer game. Will attending CC a better option to transfer to Madison?

Thanks for reading and much more thanks if replying… :slight_smile:

*as–>at

Well my kid dual enrolled at a CC and is starting at Madison as a freshman this fall. His credits should all transfer.

So maybe it depends on CC but my kid did not perceive a huge number of students as lazy and teachers as less enthusiastic. In fact, he had a lot of great teachers and smaller class sizes. Many of the teachers at his urban CC are teaching at higher end universities as well. Some were published authors and researchers. He had access to honors classes. There were more non-traditional students and more English language learners. Non-traditional, older students are often much more focused and serious about their studies than their younger counterparts. Obviously, I can’t speak for every CC but my kid had a great experience at a CC.