Orientation

<p>We just got back from orientation for my engineering student. Feel free to ask any questions!</p>

<p>Me too! I am an engineering student as well. Feel free to ask questions.</p>

<p>We were there too…Tuesday/Wednesday . When did you guys go??</p>

<p>Thurs and Fri</p>

<p>Just a little tid bit for COE students…over 8000 students applied to the COE and about 1500 were accepted…the actual class is around 1400. Pretty amazing stats. </p>

<p>Dang… </p>

<p>I didn’t realize admittance into the COE was that competitive now. </p>

<p>I doubt it though. Who told you that? What’s up with that HUGE yield rate for COE?</p>

<p>I asked during the orientation session with the professor. I forget her name. It was at the session at the new engineering building. I find it doubtful the professor lied to us. I asked how many students applied to the COE. She said 8000. </p>

<p>That is probably true. But, I am pretty sure they accepted way more than 1500. And that yield rate can’t be that high… even Stanford’s is not that high :D</p>

<p>VT historically gets around 6,000 COE apps and accepts 70-73%, to end up with around 1500 enrolled COE students (35% yield).</p>

<p>There is no way they accept 70% into the COE. I don’t buy it. The speaker at the engineering meeting made it very clear they were highly selective in the process . From what I have read they accept 1 in 4 applications. </p>

<p>@crazymom4 - see link below. These stats are directly from VT and I doubt they fudge the numbers as the information is required to be provided by all colleges to outside parties for compliance and regulatory reasons. There is a section near the bottom for offers, etc by college</p>

<p><a href=“http://www.ir.vt.edu/work_we_do/demo_enroll/admission/studentAdmission.html”>http://www.ir.vt.edu/work_we_do/demo_enroll/admission/studentAdmission.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>I agree, I remember hearing an acceptance rate of about 30-40% for the Engineering school</p>