Scholarship Probation Question

<p>So I’m a sophomore at bama right now, with the presidential (full tuition) scholarship, and my first year did not go very well academically. 1st semester went really well but 2nd semester I failed one class and got a C- in another. I ended up with a 2.89 GPA for the year, so this year I’m on scholarship probation. I’m pretty confident I’ll easily make more than a 3.0 this semester, especially since that failed class was totally avoidable and my fault.</p>

<p>However, in the letter I got over the summer, it stated that my scholarship will be withheld for the spring semester until grades are in. Checking the payment schedule, payment is due on December 13, 2013, while grades are due December 17.</p>

<p>Does this mean I’ll have to pay for Spring 2013, and then wait till grades are confirmed for a refund? Since I’m an out-of-state student, that’s $12,000. That’s quite a bit of money for me to come up with, especially since my family isn’t very wealthy. Does anyone know what would happen if you don’t pay by the December 13th deadline?</p>

<p>the best place to get this answer is at UA … contact the bursar’s office and ask … they have dealt with this situation many times and know the correct answer.</p>

<p>I am not sure how they would handle this, but if you have to pay (till your grades are in), see if you can defer the spring semester payment. Perhaps you can put yourself on a monthly payment plan, so you would only have to pay a smaller portion upfront.</p>

<p>I know that you now realize that school must be your First Priority this semester to get your GPA over a 3.0 However, try for an even higher GPA to give yourself some leeway for the following semester.