Texas A&M engineering chances

I am wondering what are my chances for getting into Dwight’s College of Engineering for Texas A&M based on numbers alone.(I am a Texas resident) My starts are not spectacular, but I think I have a decent shot.
I am a junior and is currently both an automatic admit and a top 10 % admit.
Class Rank 52/666 (top 8 %) school ranked nationally (# 57) in the nation (Westwood)
1st SAT 1370 (660 Math, 710 Critical reading)
2nd SAT 1330 (710 Math, 620 Critical Reading)
As long as I apply early enough (early August) is that good enough?

Thanks,

oh and also: (if this helps)
weighted gpa 5.4167 / 5.0
unweighted gpa : 4.0/4.0

@Warrior64. The average SAT for last year’s class was just over 1300, so you should be good. Good luck to you.

Yes, provided you apply early enough you would be an automatic admit to the university and then also get any major that is available at the time of your admission. The key is to apply early - if you wait, engineering fills to 85% capacity & then you end up in the review pool competing for your major. The ‘magic date’ as to the definition ‘early enough’ changes every year - apps open Aug 1st. Congrats on your achievements!

Get it in by the first week of October, that seems to be the the deadline to be absolutely safe.

You’ll get in, I was top 10% and I got in even with a low ACT score (24).

@patstar5 to Engineering? Do they really just accept anyone that’s auto accept?
I know UT Cockrell is a huge exception since I know kids at my school who had 2200 + on SAT’s and were still capped since their ranks weren’t in top 7%.

and converselly, I know kids in the 7 % that didnt get into Cockrell at UT since their SAT scores were too low

I know kids that were in the top 2% with high test scores that didn’t get into Cockrell. It is a tough school to get into.