Transfer from Minnesota

<p>Hi,
I'm currently a freshman at the Carlson School of Management at University of Minnesota - Twin Cities. I didn't get in to Madison out of high school, but I was offered a place in the connections program. I turned that down, thinking it would be better to go to a decent business school (Minnesota) for 4 years. Now, I want to transfer to Madison in any way possible.</p>

<p>What kinds of classes would you recommend taking next year?</p>

<p>If I transfer to Eau Claire for spring, then apply to Madison for next fall, would it look worse than if I stay in Minnesota for a full year, then apply to Madison?</p>

<p>I could also go to MATC this spring, then apply to Madison, but I assume it would look like I couldn't handle Carlson if I did that.</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Sorry i hope you dont mind me asking but why do you want to leave Minnesota so bad? I was thinking of doing the same thing if denied by Madison.</p>

<p>It’s not that I want to leave Minnesota, it’s just that I want to be at Madison.
I grew up in Madison and was planning on going there my whole life, but thought it would be better to go somewhere else for a full 4 years instead of transferring. Now I realize I still want to go to Madison.</p>

<p>If you feel the need to transfer for the next fall term at Madison, I would apply for transfer right now if you haven’t done so. I recommended taking rigorous courses next semester, to show you are capable of handling their work load. I don’t think you can transfer to another uw system school as a freshman. Also, when applying, make sure your essay is top notch. cant stress that enough; it can determine if you get in or not.</p>

<p>I’m also transferring to UW Madison next year as a sophomore, good luck!</p>