University Of Alabama Q/A With A Current Student!

Hi guys, I am currently a sophomore here at UA and I just wanted to start a thread for anyone who has any questions about what it is like attending Alabama. I am an out of state from NY double majoring in journalism and finance and involved with many organizations and clubs on campus! I am happy to answer any questions anyone may have about the University so fire away!

Thank you for doing this. I have a few :).

1. If you had a choice between the two: Burke or Friedman Hall?
  2. We are out of state and will be flying to UA. Any advise on how to move in to dorms when driving is not an option?
  3. With all involvement in clubs and organizations, do you have time for a part-time job?
  4. Do you have experience with Hillel?
  5. Any advice about going or not going back home for fall break?

Thanks.

I’ll try to answer them to the best that I can!

1. I lived in RidgeCrest but I had a few friends who lived in Burke and have not known anyone who has lived in Friedman. I would go with Burke because it has it's own dinning hall in the lobby while Friedman is very far from any dinning hall, also it contains a little connivance story and a volleyball court. Both of them do have suites as well. Friedman also doesn't have an elevator and access to some of the rooms is outside, like a motel.
  2. I flew down as well and my parents rented a truck from a car rental service at the airport (Aviss, Enterprise) which made moving in very easy. We also do everything thorough Bed, Bath & Beyond and it was so simple. You go to a store by your house and they give you a scanner and you just scan whatever items you think you need and they will have it waiting for you when you get to Alabama (The Bed, Bath & Beyond was in Birmingham but it wasn't an issue since that is where the airport is and they are opening one in Tuscaloosa!). I think it will be pretty hard to move in without renting a car.