University of Miami: Tips for a high school Sophomore?

<p>Hey, I'm currently a sophomore in high school (class of 2012) and I have been doing exstensive college searching for the past couple of months. I am very academically inclined, having a 4.0 unweighted GPA and taking 2 AP courses this year, 4 next year, and probably 6 senior year. Yes, I know, it seems overkill, but I also balance this with a pretty good social life. I am very interested in marine biology (hence my nickname) and am interested in the Marine Science/Biology double major program at University of Miami. I am looking for a college on the coast that is warm almost year-round. I would like to know what people think of University of Miami, and any tips they have for me as I progress through my high school career. Thanks!</p>

<p>UM’s a great place, but if you’re already taking AP’s you should look into higher ranked colleges. Doing some high school research or participating in science contests (esp if you placed high) would look really good. If you live here, they probably have talks about the research in UM (I’m not in marine bio), you could come to some of them, see how the place is. Good AP grades and SAT grades won’t hurt.</p>

<p>I live in Maryland, where at this moment I am in the middle of a blizzard. Do you know of any schools I should look into that are on the East Coast that fit my other criteria?</p>

<p>evievi</p>

<p>You obviously are not familiar with Miami’s marine program! </p>

<p>The Rosensteil School of Marine and Atmospheric Science is one of the absolute BEST undergrad Marine programs in the country. The scores of the students in this program (only 100 are lucky enough to get in each year) are the highest at the University. It is also the school’s most difficult and challenging program. </p>