***University of Wisconsin-Madison Spring 2018 Transfer Thread***

Starting a new thread for Spring 2018 Transfer. Anyone transferring? From where?

Hi, I am applying from Madison College. I am in my fifth semester, I started at MATC-Milwaukee but Madison College was much more appealing.

I am applying from Lakeland University in Wisconsin. It was a choice out of comfort and has allowed me to commute from home. I am technically a freshman years wise, but after first semester, I will be a sophomore according to UW Madison’s standards with 29 credits. I took classes totaling 5 credits from a community college my senior year of HS, and am currently taking 24 credits between my university and the same community college. I am doing great, currently at mid semester with a 4.0. I am hoping this will show them that I can handle the Madison coursework.

I graduated from high school with a 3.98 GPA, honors, and as a valedictorian (there were a few, but my class rank is still #1!). I meet the language requirements, taking french all four years of high school. I was involved in the orchestra, gymnastics, national honors society, and the freshman welcome committee. I’ve had a job since the beginning of my junior year and participated in the Wisconsin Youth Apprenticeship program. This first semester of college I haven’t been involved in my school really since they have no orchestra, I am taking 8 classes, and am working, but I would really like to get involved in Madison.

I did not apply to Madison as a senior as I had no interest, but looking at friends who were accepted, I most likely would have been accepted as well.

I think my stats look pretty good, but I am still nervous as anything is possible!

UW-Madison has had an orchestra class (1 credit) for nonmajors that offers HS players a way to continue with their instrument. Heard about this from someone from my son’s HS who was helping with dorm move in years ago. Worth considering if/when you are at UW. Son did not do it.