UVA won't accept my credits

<p>I am currently a dual-enrollment student taking 3 college courses at the Northern Virginia Community College while still in high school. I was planning to finish the 12 credits in progress now and take another 12 in the summer in order to apply as a transfer student for the spring semester of 2012. I was advised that this would be a better, more effective way of getting into UVA, considering the fact that they would be able to consider my established track record in college (4.0 unweighted gpa) as well as my high school stats. Unfortunately, I have now learned that UVA doesn't recognize credits that were finished while the applicant was still in high school ON TRANSFER APPLICATIONS. They are fine on regular decision apps just not on transfer ones. Also, if I had graduated high school early and taken the classes at the same time as i am now, they would be accepted. I don't understand why the fact that I am still in high school should give them the right to disregard my credits. Can anyone explain this to me?</p>

<p>I looked briefly at your other posts, to ascertain if you were a senior, and you are. However, I am confused because on one post you mention you have applied to UVA. So, did you already apply as a regular freshman or not?<br>
My understanding of transfer application process is that a student needs to already have a HS diploma (or GED), so in some ways your concerns are moot; you are ineligible to apply as a transfer student without a high school diploma.<br>
However, if you haven’t applied as a regular freshman, and are wanting to apply later on as a transfer student, then it does appear (according to what you say here) that UVA won’t give you credit for your current classes. After you have your diploma, they will give you credit for your planned summer classes.
Often transfer students don’t obtain the credit they think they will.<br>