UW-Madison Business School

<p>I'm a recently accepted transfer student who will trying to get into the business school as soon as possible. I heard it's very hard to get into which scares me a bit. I'm just wondering what are the best ways to get in, what are the requirements, some of the steps to take to get admission. I don't want to switch schools again, Madison is my dream school. I want to get my degree from there. I've discussed with my parents that if I couldn't get in I'd just change my major to political science. Any advice would be useful.</p>

<p>Requirements are to take Economics 101 (Micro), Psychology 202 (Introduction), Math 211 or 221 (First semester calculus), and English 100 </p>

<p>They say a range of GPA that is good to get in but after talking to the head of admissions the lowest accepted last time around was a 2.75 (a lot of involvement and good essays)</p>

<p>In the application there is a resume (be involved in college), they look at overall GPA, pre-business GPA (the 4 classes listed above), and essays. </p>

<p>Acceptance rate is roughly 60%.</p>

<p>If you have AP credit, would you be exempt from those classes? If so, what would be the pre-business GPA?</p>

<p>If you have AP credit, you are exempt. Pre-Business is calculated on whatever of those for classes you DO take. Unless you test out of all of them you will have some form of pre-business GPA.</p>

<p>What happens if you actually test out of all of them (which I plan to do)?</p>

<p>I’m not really sure! Probably a good question to ask when you are registering for classes with the Business school advisers at SOAR.</p>

<p>I checked this out a bit, although I sitll have some questions.</p>

<p>The decision is made on the following:
Business Pre-reqs (yes you can test out of these)
UW GPA (minimum 24 credit hours based on SOAR advisor recommendations)
Resume
(2) Essays </p>