Zinc needs help - transportation from FLL to UM

<p>I don't seem to have the transportation thing figured out at all!! My D is returning from winter break on Sunday the 15th - flying into Fort Lauderdale (I know, I know - MIA is probably the better choice, but JetBlue had a really good deal we couldn't pass up). </p>

<p>Anyway, when she returned thru FLL on Thanksgiving break, we put her on a group shuttle and because one of the riders had to be dropped in SoBe, the trip took like 3 hours from when they left - probably a total of 4 to 4 1/2 hours from the time she landed until she set foot on campus.</p>

<p>Other than a private shuttle (town car? Limo?) or a private cab, what options do students have to get from FLL to UM campus? Back in the olde days when I was a student, we had ride boards (index cards, thumb tacks, phone numbers - groan if you remember!) and we could connect to share rides here and there. Is there a facebook equivalent today? </p>

<p>Is anyone planning to arrive at FLL at 6:15 pm on Sunday January 15th - maybe she could share a ride with someone on CC!! </p>

<p>Any advice is much appreciated...
~Zinc</p>

<p>When my DS flies into FLL he calls Go-Shuttle…I think it is about 30.00. It usually works out costwise the same as flying into MIA since the flights on SWest only go to FLL and are cheaper.</p>

<p>I have to agree with DinDune, $30 for a trip to UM is definitely a great deal from FLL. What I usually do is take the tri-rail. If she’s flying in at 6:15, she’d probably catch the 7:03 train, get to the metrorail transfer at 7:33, then catch the 7:55 train to UM, which will have her there by 8:30. That will cost you about $5 plus the taxi.</p>

<p>Son used GO Shuttle to and from UM as Freshman and Soph. Lucky for him, he usually was the only one going to FLL and had a nice limo… FLL to UM was always a much longer ride, dropping off others. Son and roommate used the train once. Hated it. </p>