Chance Me?

Hi all,
Im a graduated HS student who is technically enrolled in UC Davis (scheduled to attend this upcoming September). I lived in Virginia for 18 years and after being accepted into many California colleges, my father and I moved out west in August. However, personal issues have driven me to apply to Virginia Tech, a day before the deadline I might add, and right now my future regarding college is riding on this one decision, as most other VA college deadlines have passed.

I’m hoping to gain some insight as to whether I’d be accepted or waitlisted, as I realize VT tends to waitlist students they think are only applying to them as a safety school.

Here are my stats:
Major–Political Science
GPA–4.34 (W), school doesnt give UW
SAT Math–670
SAT Writing–720
SAT Comp–1390

I took 11 APs, performed well on the exams.

EC-- volunteering, community service clubs, VP of MHS, did a year in Varsity Tennis

Also does anyone know if I’d be considered OOS? I’ve been living in California for only a few months and I plan on moving back to VA regardless.

Thank you for reading! Let me know your thoughts

Your stats sound outstanding for VT Political Sci. My son has also applied to Poli Sci and both his GPA & SAT scores are well beneath yours. Look at VT past admission data broken down by majors, gender, residency to give you an idea:

https://irweb.ir.vt.edu/webtest/admission_data.aspx

I would get an apartment in Virginia quick like to maintain residence.

As your fathers tax return for 2017 - last one filed would show all Virginia you should be able to get Virginia rates - how did you list on application? Shame if you listed as out of state only living in California for a few months.

You should be fine acceptance wise.

Thank you for your responses. I appreciate the link, @kathyrain. I am hoping the best for your son!