I want to go home

I’m currently a sophomore in college. I have been at my university a month now. And I just want to go home. It’s not that I don’t like the school, I do. I’m just sick and tired of every day feeling like Groundhog Day. I just wake up, go to class, do homework, work. Rinse and repeat. I feel like I have barely any time to work on myself or enjoy myself. I can’t even work enough to start accumulating money because I feel like school dictates my life. I understand that this is life or that I’ll have to deal with this when I have a job. But I’m honestly miserable. I plan on speaking to a counselor or something, but I don’t think it’s going to help my desire to go home.

I’m only posting here because I feel so lost and I guess I just need advice. I honestly just feel so sad.

This is a great first step. If one at school can’t quickly see you, find one on your parents insurance network.

We’re you home last year ? Homesickness is common for many but it dissipates over time.

Good luck.

2 Likes

I think speaking to a counselor will help a lot more than you might think. They will be able to help you isolate the things that are making you sad, and see if it’s really your everyday routine. I got really sad in college—felt like everyone my age (including me) was terminally self-absorbed and useless). I fixed it by becoming more useful, studying abroad, and changing some of my friends!

2 Likes

Do you have helpful, sympathetic, supportive family or close friends? Call one of them, preferably a parent or older sib, or aunt or uncle. This sounds like depression. There is SO much that can be done to help you! It will get better, I promise.

If you have absolutely no one to whom you think you can reach out, walk into student health, get an immediate appointment today, to be seen this afternoon. Go. Now. They will help you.

4 Likes